Tossed the Bra at the Stop Light


Hubby gets in the van and asks, “Hon…why is there a bra in here?”

Well I thought after all these years that the answer would be obvious.  I took it off and tossed it! What else would it be doing in there?

I have been becoming increasing more sensitive these days.  I am not sure if it is because of my increasing discomfort during the pregnancy, though I am sure that has something to do with it.  As I am expanding, all of my clothing,and yes undergarments, are getting tighter and more uncomfortable by the minute.

I grabbed a maternity outfit out of a bin that I had stored from my last pregnancy, quickly shoved it on and ran out the door–late to my doctor’s appointment again.  I had not worn this particular outfit very often during my last pregnancy and now I remembered why.  The shirt collar was itching, the arms hole were uncomfortable (they must have shrunk damn it!), and I was already wiggling around and tugging on it before I hopped in the car.

As I drove up the road I fidgeted some more. I was becoming increasingly cranky and began growling at the other drivers on the road.  I cursed at a woman who rudely cut me off and growled even more loudly this time.

“Mom, are you ok?” Aspie Teen asked from the passenger seat.

“No, I’m cranky.” I said.  The bra must have shrunk too because now the lace was scratching (I thought I had pulled that tag in the back off already, apparently not.) and for some reason I felt like I had something metal stabbing me in the back–and I was having trouble taking deep breaths.

“Arrrgghh, that’s it!” I yelled when I pulled up to a red light. I unhooked the back of the damn thing, pulled the straps out the sides of my sleeves, and wiggled it down over my basketball belly.  Then I signed in relief and tossed the bra into the back seat!

Aspie Teen shook his head.

It was like magic. I was free and my mood began to improve for the rest of the ride to the doctor’s.  The appointment went by without a hitch, but I am sure that I would have been irritable and agrumentative about everything had I left that thing on to scratch, stab and choke at me.

Victoria can keep her satin, lace, and metal tangs–I was done!

So back to the orginal conversation…

“Hon, why is there a bra in here?”

“What? Oh…I tossed it at the stop light.”

Hubby shakes his head and rubs his temples.

Lesson learned: When I am irritable for no reason that I can pinpoint do a clothing and comfort check, it usually reveals something that is causing my sensitivities to roar and my emotions to be overloaded.

7 thoughts on “Tossed the Bra at the Stop Light

  1. My bra ends up all over my apartment. One of the first things I do when I get home from work is remove it. When I buy a new one I have to make sure it’s NOT lacy!

  2. I read the book and I read some of the posts and it’s like a mirror just reading what you write. As for the clothing, it does go beyond comfort. Once I bought a pair of leggings. One was sewn just the slightest bit tighter than the other. I knew when I pulled them on that I should take them off and return them…I really needed them and didn’t want to take the extra time as I was in a hurry anyway. To much to do and not enough time to do it in. I snapped at my husband on the way out the door, then I got mad because the doors didn’t unlock the first 4 times I pressed the clicker. It was all down hill from there. By the time we got where we were going, I was like a raving, lunatic. I got so angry…While I was in the rest room trying to get it together before having to face other people, I just ripped the leggings off and threw them in the waste basket. I was a completely different person as I walked out of that restroom. Albeit, not a modest looking one and I got plenty of stares. It almost felt like a weight had been lifted off me. The rest of the evening went smoother.

  3. I have done this… well very similar lol for same reasons and in the car I refuse to wear the things 90% of the time unless I have to and rarely if ever in winter… my tolerance to tight clothing is much less than it was.

Leave a Reply

